Who Am I?

Last week I left my job after far too many years working in the mental health care system. I’ve gone through a week of ups and down as I transition to whatever it is that comes next for me.

There have been two major challenges with this transition.

The first is that I realized that without a job, I don’t know who I am. For many years, my job defined me. That seems to be what we do in this culture, but what is left when the job is gone. I knew who I was as a mental health professional, but who am I now? A question I have been pondering for a while.

I think I found the answer today. It came via a prayer and being guided to Sterling’s blog. He drew a auracature for someone that had the answer I was looking for. To me, the auracature looked like the face of a man topped with a sun with rays going out from it. The message that came to me is one that I’ve been getting for a few months now. I’ve been told many time that I am a “spark of light in the mind of God”. That did not make sense to me until I saw the picture. I am like that sun that shines resting in the mind of God. WOW. I finally know who I am. Now what that means is another question that I hope to answer soon.

The second challenge is being lonely. For the first time in many years, I spend my days mostly alone. I’m used to the hustle and busyness of working where it is often a relief to find a few minutes to be alone. Then the transition to being alone where it is a relief to spend a few minutes with other people.

What this has done is given me time to listen to the “voices” that I hear in my mind. I’ve always heard them speaking to me and now know that they are the voices of what I call spirits, the guides and angels that are working with me. I’m learning that by listening, the loneliness is less of a problem. The quieter I am, the more information that comes to me. It’s not the same as human contact, but comforting none the less.

Today as I realized the benefit of hearing guides and angels, I was guided to a book by Doreen Virtue that speaks about this subject and the value of learning how to do this. So sometime soon, I plan to put a workshop together to help others learn to do what came naturally to me.
In loving service,

sheryl

One Response to Who Am I?

  1. Bonita Summers says:

    I did the same thing a few days after you, Sheryl. Do you have any guidance for me as to my next step? I am seeing signs and experiencing tremendous changes regarding my career, but encouragement and guidance would be most appreciated. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

